Bukhari, Baloch elected unopposed Senate Chairman, Deputy

ISLAMABAD,  Syed Nayer Hussain Bukhari has been elected as Chairman Senate and Sabir Baloch as Deputy Chairman Senate unopposed amid the slogans  zinda hai Bhutto zinda hai .

Afrasayab Khattak  who was nominated by President Asif Ali Zardari to chair the special session of the Senate  administered oath to Syed Nayyar Hussain Bokhari as new Chairman of the Senate.

Earlier  the chair formally declared Bokhari as elected unopposed as no other nomination papers were received for the office of the Chairman Senate.

After taking oath  the new Chairman administered oath of office to newly elected Deputy Chairman Senate Sabir Ali Baloch  who was also declared to have been elected unopposed.

The opposition in the Senate decided not to contest for the posts of Chairman and Deputy Chairman, hence no other candidate filed nomination papers for the slots.

Earlier  Fifty four newly elected Senators took oath at a special session of the House on Monday. After taking oath they signed the senators roll.

It is for the first time that Pakistan Peoples Party has emerged as a majority party in the senate having forty-one seats.

Before session meeting, the government coalition and parliamentary party of the opposition held a meeting where it was decided that Ishaq Dar would be an opposition leader.

On the other hand, opposition parties also held a meeting under joint chairmanship of Raja Zaferul Haque, Maulan Abdul Ghafoor Hayderi and Ishaq Dar in which the PML-N, JUI-F, National Party, Fata and other independent members participated.

The meeting decided that the opposition would demand chairmanship of standing committees according to its strength under new rules and regulations.

One Pakistan - Pakistan News & General Entertainment Web Portal

Mobile RSS / Alerts Sitemap
Get Social with Us!

Use of this site is governed by our Terms and Privacy Policy | About | Copyright | Contact

© Onepakistan.com 2012. All rights reserved.